680 Hotel Nairobi; A no-go place

3
161

There are two things that 680 hotel is known for; insecurity and poor service; now I have a third; harassment.

About three years ago, a friend was visiting town and I recommended 680 hotel, but he lost his valuables, I later came to learn that if you want to be mugged or to lose your valuables, book at 680.

So, I disliked the place and hasn’t been there since.

But when GG asked me to meet her there, I thought it was a good idea, they have a coffee shop down stairs; so I thought it was a good idea; I was wrong.

For some reason the watchman at 680 hotel waited till our meeting was done and before GG could even take ten steps, he came on to me and suggested that I move to another restaurant. He picked me out of a crowd and wondered why so I asked what rationale he had used.

I have never been hounded by a watchman at a Cafe; I would have expected that in one of those down town joints I frequent but not at a three star hotel in town.

The most annoying thing was the watchman started interfering with my laptop, grabbing it and in the meantime attracting some attention. I must have looked out of place, a hooker or something like that.

You can imagine GG at the stairs calling me wondering what was happening to me; 680 hotel has no internet and there is nothing that would have kept me idling there; its not my kind of place.

Anyway, so I went to the front office and talked to a guy called Patrick Kivoo, the manager or something like that. He started saying how there was break down of communication blabla…

From the experience, I understood why the hotel is so insecure; they have their priorities messed up; if you have rungu-wielding watchmen harassing customers, what do you expect?

Bit up to now, I have not understood what I did or did not do; I bought, no one said spend more and I didn’t; but that was the first time I was embarrassed.

So much for big hotels….

3 COMMENTS

  1. I stay at 680 every year and honestly I agree on most of the things that you have said. You’ll be better at Hotel Southern Blue in Ngara which is owned by Kaguthi. Negative things about 680:
    Customer service is horrible!
    Security guards are not professional. If they know that you don’t live in Kenya, they will beg you to give them tips everyday
    Hotel check – out time is 10 O’ clock but 10 minutes before time your card is deactivated – Management response is that there time is different than the customer. I guess 680 is the only hotel that has special time in the world.
    TVs in the room do not have good reception and you have to deposit a ksh 1000 to be given a TV remote. What a shame!
    I know Patrick, he is a good guy but cannot handle situation. I had a confrontation with his assistant due to unwarranted search and all he could say is communication problem blaah blaah….. . At the end of the day they all had to back down because I was ready to knock the shit out of them.

  2. I truly agree with you that 680 is not the place to be. I’ve stayed there more than 20 times whenever I’m in Kenya but this time I’m not. The only reason I stayed there was because I wanted to be within the city. To survive at 680 you have to be extremely rude and Ghetto – like because that’s the only language they understand. I had a huge there too because of unwarranted search and all Patrick would say was that it was miscommunication. One thing is that Patrick was nice but he is no longer there.
    Cons:
    Most of the receptionists are rude.
    Most security guards like begging money and you are accompanied by a female it doesn’t matter whether she is you relative they first impression she is a hooker.
    The hotel accommodation is overpriced and you get charged extra when you use credit card which sometimes cannot be read by their archaic card reader.
    For your safety don’t use the lifts because there is likely-hood that you will be stuck
    Don’t park your car in front of the hotel because your side mirrors and side lights will be stolen.
    Pros: The guest luggage porters are the best and well behaved.
    The waiter and waitresses at the dining areas are very nice and respectful.
    You want a better deal? Go to Hotel Southern Blue at Ngara and you’ll save alot and have peaceful night but make sure you don’t walk out at night because the neighborhood is not good.

Comments are closed.